RJOS 2020 He For She Award

Applications are now closed for the 2021 He For She Award.  The 2021 recipient will be announced at the RJOS Annual Meeting.   


In 2019, the Ruth Jackson Orthopaedic Society implemented a new annual award program, the “He For She” Award. This RJOS Award recognizes a male orthopaedic surgeon who serves as a strong mentor and sponsor for women in orthopaedics, supporting and empowering females at all stages of their careers to achieve their professional goals

 The recipient is selected based on the following criteria:

Open advocate for women in orthopaedics

Continued support, mentorship and sponsorship for various women

Forward-minded, inclusive thinker  


RJOS is pleased to recognize the recipient of the first RJOS He For She Award:

Dr. Mark E. Baratz - University of Pittsburg Medical Center

Click here to read the nomination letter for Dr. Baratz.


RJOS would also like to recognize each of the following who were nomnated for the He For She Award:

Dr. Robert Hyun Cho – Shriners for Children Medical Center Pasadena

Dr. Sanford (Sandy) E. Emery – University of West Virginia

Dr. Gary E. Friedlaender – Yale University

Dr. Andrew Glassman – The Ohio State University, Wexner Medical Center

Dr. Seth S. Leopold – University of Washington

Dr. Gregory A. Mencio – Monroe Carell, Jr. Children’s Hospital at Vanderbilt

Dr. Robert C. Schenck, Jr. – University of New Mexico

Dr. Kevin G. Shea – Stanford Children’s Hospital

Dr. Lewis L. Shi – University of Chicago Medical Center

Dr. Joseph D. Zuckerman – NYU Langone Medical Center

2020 He For She Award Recipient Image