2021 He For She Award

The Ruth Jackson Orthopaedic Society (RJOS) annual “He For She” Award proudly recognizes a male orthopaedic surgeon who serves as a strong mentor and sponsor for women in orthopaedics, supporting and empowering females at all stages of their careers to achieve their professional goals.

 The recipient is selected based on the following criteria:

Open advocate for women in orthopaedics

Continued support, mentorship and sponsorship for various women

Forward-minded, inclusive thinker  


RJOS is pleased to recognize the recipient of the 2021 RJOS He For She Award:

William N. Levine, MD, FAAOS  - Columbia University Medical Center 

Click here to read the nomination letters for Dr. Levine

Click here to read the AAOS Now article, Ruth Jackson Orthopaedic Society Announces  2021 "He For She" Nominees and Winner  


RJOS would also like to recognize the following orthopaedic surgeons who were nominated for the 2021 He For She Award:

 Amiethab Aiyer, MD – University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine

Charles A. Bush-Joseph, MD – Rush University Medical Center

Douglas R. Dirschl, MD – The University of Chicago

Jorge Fabregas, MD – Atlanta Medical Center at Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta

James R, Ficke, MD – Johns Hopkins Hospital and School of Medicine

Charles E. Giangarra, MD – Marshall University College of Medicine

Michael J, Goldberg, MD – Seattle Children’s Hospital

L. Andrew Koman, MD - Wake Forest Baptist Health

Louis M. Kwong, MD, FACS – Harbor, UCLA

Richard D. Lackman, MD – Cooper University Hospital

Thomas H. Lee, MD – Private Practice, Columbus, Ohio

Vincent D. Pellegrini, Jr., MD - Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center

Richard F. Santore, MD – University of California, San Diego

Robert C. Schenck, Jr., MD – University of New Mexico

Vernon Thorpe Tolo, MD – Children’s Hospital Los Angeles

Robert H. Wilson, MD – Howard University Hospital

Raymond Dayne Wright, Jr., MD – University of Kentucky Medical Center

Thomas A. Zdeblick, MD – University of Wisconsin School of Medicine

Click here to view all of the 2021 nominees

2021 He For She Award Image